Make a spice shelf!

When we remodeled our bathroom, we converted a vintage Ethan Allen sideboard for the vanity.  Of course, we had to cut away much of the drawers to make room for the sink. I had the pieces of the drawer laying around the work room and decided to create a little shelf unit.

Empty Spice Rack

Empty Spice Rack

I didn’t create a tutorial when I was making the shelf. That was BB, Before Blog! But I think the photos are self explanatory.  I cut the pieces, and painted with my self created chalk paint in a color which is close to Tiffany blue, and waxed. If you want to learn more about my chalk paint, my post about my French Farmhouse chairs discusses it here. It’s easier to do when it is in pieces, then you can just touch up where the nails are. I didn’t wax the back of the shelf because I was adding the graphics onto it.

Before putting the shelf together, I printed out some graphics from the Graphics Fairy on plain white paper. I have to warn you, if you have not been to her sight before, it is like going down the rabbit hole! Make sure you have lots of time. All of her graphics are old and royalty free, and free to use for whatever you want! She also has great tutorials on how to transfer the graphics to different surfaces.

The graphics I used for this project are a coffee distributor advertisement and a botanical print of a hydrangea. I tore some of the edges to make them look worn. I used Mod Podge to decoupage and seal the graphics onto the back of the shelf.
Mod Podge1
I then glued, and used brad nails to put the shelf unit together.

The jars had bright gold/brassy lids, so I spray painted them black. I then used a copper spray paint, holding it about three feet away and lightly spraying so it just barely left a spattering of color on the black. Looks kind of rusty, doesn’t it?.

Painted Jar Lid

Painted Jar Lid

I didn’t have the jars when I created the shelf.  I wasn’t intending to use it as a spice rack at all when I made it.  I was thinking of using it in my bedroom.  But the jars were given to me by a friend, and they fit perfectly on the shelf. When I started seeing the chalkboard paint being used on glass surfaces, a light bulb went off.

I began by outlining the label on the jars with a black Sharpie pen using a template from this book I bought years ago at JoAnn Fabrics or Michaels. I think it was right around when the Cricut and Silhouette, and similar machines were coming out, and they put this book on sale. It had paper punch outs of different shapes to use for tags, but I use the shapes for stencils and tracing around the shapes. They work great for this purpose. Any kind of stencil or cardboard label could be used to do this.

Book of Stencils

Book of Stencils

I then painted in the area with the chalk board paint which I purchased at the craft store. I used a small flat brush, and applied two coats. I outlined and painted instead of stenciling so that the paint would have a smooth finish. Stenciling may have made a bumpy surface. I followed the directions on the paint; letting the paint cure for a day or two and then baking in the oven. They are now durable and washable. I had intended to use actual chalk to write the spice names, but then thought they would rub off too easily. I use the same spices all the time anyway, so I used a white paint pen.  I bought this one at JoAnn Fabrics for $4.99. That really was a life saver to not have to paint the names on with a brush!

Label Products Used

Label Products Used

IMG_1593

If I had the jars when I built the shelf, I would have made the width to fit the jars.  I have extra space, but I’ll fill in the spots with some accessories.  I do love seeing the different colors of the spices!  I think repurposing baby food jars would work excellently for a project like this.

IMG_1598

I created this rack for under $10, have chalkboard paint and paint pen to use for other projects, and used scrap wood that was going to the burn pile!
Spice Rack Collage

I hope you will try making your own shelf because this was a fun project!

