I purchased the table from a local thrift store because I thought the handles and the shelf underneath were unique and gave the table character. Although it was one of those ’70’s Early American type tables, it is solid hard wood and I had a vision. I looked past the worn finish and the stained top.

Bee Table Before Collage

I started with two coats of homemade white chalk paint.  Then I used a French graphic from the Graphics Fairy that I enlarged to fit the top of the table.  I use Block Posters, but there are other sites on the web that allow free enlarging and then you can print it out.  I used Mod Podge to transfer the image.  That is applying a thick layer of the regular Mod Podge to the surface and laying down the image. If your image has words, make sure I invert it so the writing is backwards before printing it out.  Allow it to dry overnight (or 6-8 hours) and then wet the paper slightly and rub off all the paper and the image stays behind.

This transfer didn't turn out so well.

This transfer didn’t turn out so well.

I had used this method before with one of our inkjet printers and regular paper and I am not totally sold on this method, but it had worked ok.  However, the printer I used before was on the blink and I had to use our other printer.  It didn’t work as well.  The image came out rather pale and a lot of the ink rubbed off with the paper.  It looked worn, but it just seemed too washed out for me.  So I repainted the top and experimented.

I had some parchment paper, usually used for cooking.  It had a slightly shiny side which I thought would allow the ink to release onto the Mod Podge better and that did work as planned.  I just cut it to the 8 1/2 x 11 normal paper size and fed it into my printer one sheet at a time.  When I had enlarged the image, it took four sheets to print it out.  I taped them together to create the full image.  I then cut some of the unnecessary paper off before laying it down on the Mod Podge.

This transfer turned out better with Parchment Paper

This transfer turned out better with Parchment Paper

I have to say that the lines between the sheets of paper showed up when I rubbed off the paper.  There are also slight ridges where I had cut the paper off.  Also, I found that when I wax the piece, the wax looks different on the Mod Podge than it does on the raw painted areas causing a slightly different color and texture.  If you don’t look at it too closely, it doesn’t show.  Maybe I need more practice, but if I were going to sell these pieces, I wouldn’t use this method of transfer.  There are other methods all over the web, and I plan to try some different ones out.

Although it isn’t perfect, it is a great improvement, don’t you think?  I love it and will keep it for myself.  Maybe someday it will get another makeover!

 

 

The completed French Bee table

The completed French Bee table

 

 

 

