The Bead Board Ceiling

Now that the holidays are over, we began the makeover of the first floor of our builder-basic townhouse condo.  We have a semi-open concept, so a makeover in one room ends up having to be a makeover for all the rooms.

We’ve started with the ceiling and are going to work our way down.  The ceiling in the living room area is nearly complete and I couldn’t wait to show you what we’ve done.  No pretty pictures here, this is the nitty-gritty stuff!

First I want to say that I got my inspiration for these ceilings from Emily and Shane over at Lifestyle & Design Online.  Their ceiling makeover was amazing and gave me the idea to redo our ugly ceilings in the same way.  We have some really ugly ceilings too.  The textured paint has been up there since the early ’80’s and there is no way to clean it!  Yuck!

We started with finding the studs with a stud finder and then snapping chalk lines so we knew where the studs were all across the ceiling.

snaplines

We then attached strapping to the ceiling because unlike Emily and Shane, we have studs under the ceiling, not lathe.  This gives a solid base to attach the bead boards.  I spent a lot of time measuring and figuring where the seams would go so that strapping would be in the right place to attach the panels.

strapping

Then the fun really began!  We put up the bead board panels.  It was a bit of work for only two people.  We created a lift from a 2×4 with a 1×4 cross piece to help lift and hold the panels in place while we nailed them up.  We used pre-primed 4×8 bead board panels from Lowes found online here.  Although they are more expensive, these panels were less flimsy than the ones at HD.  We had them,  and the strapping, delivered.

beadboard

Once all the paneling was up, we attached the molding, pre-primed 1×4’s, purchased at Home Depot.  You can see those online here.

Most of the molding is up, now all that’s left is the painting.

Molding

After we are done with the ceiling, we’ll start with the painting of the walls.  I spent so much time looking at the paint chips at Home Depot to find just the right greige, the combination of beige and gray.  I bought some samples and painted them on my walls to see how they looked at different times of the day on different walls.  Here is a close up of the colors I liked.  They look a bit more beige at night.

paintswatch

I’m going with the Filtered Shade by Valspar.   I wanted to match this fabric that I’m using for accents in my living.  I used it on the rocking chair that I refurbished.  You can see that story here.  It matches beautifully, doesn’t it!

Rocking Chair Peek

 

