Here’s what I’ve been working on lately. Please disregard the plywood floors but that is what is allowing me to use my dining room as my work space right now, until we get our new floors in!

 
Not really Mixed Media, more decoupage, but I really needed to work on some of the projects cluttering the garage. I don’t love decoupage and now wish I had done a transfer instead.
I used some images from the Graphics Fairy, but the main image is an illustration, which was the inspiration for doing this desk this way, from the late 19th century by Albert Robida called “Leaving the Opera in the Year 2000.” I found it on a site called The Public Domain Review which has some really interesting images. Once I saw it, I knew I had to use it somehow.
This is so not my usual style which is more French Country and Cottage. When I had the top done, my husband came home, and I thought I would get “the look,” you know the one that implies, “God, what is she thinking?” But he surprised me by saying, “You’re not selling this one are you? That’s so cool!” My #1 fan.
So OK, I guess I have to keep it even if it doesn’t go with anything else in my house!
Here’s what it looked like before.

Save

Save

Save

